About Us

We offer compassionate civil legal representation.

Our work at JAMLAC is urgent — we walk alongside our neighbors as they face life-altering legal challenges and strengthen their ability to thrive, not just survive.

Our Mission

We derive our name, Justice and Mercy, and our mission from the scriptural verse Micah 6:8, “what does the Lord require of you? To do justice, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God.” We live out this call in our work at JAMLAC by seeking justice for people struggling with poverty and oppression. We do this in a way that affirms the client’s dignity and strengthens their capacity to positively direct their own lives.

Our Vision and Values

By providing culturally sensitive civil legal services and defending the cause of the poor and needy, JAMLAC’s Vision is to enhance the quality of lives and create healthy communities where all people have access to justice, live free from abuse, are empowered, and thrive in the community.

You can read more about JAMLAC’s core values and our motivation to care for the poor here.

Our History

Co-founders Steve Thompson and Sulma Mendoza opened JAMLAC’s doors in 2006 in response to a deep desire to fight injustice that those struggling with poverty face. JAMLAC began in a converted motel room at Joshua Station and served 96 clients the first year. Now, in a much bigger space, we have 17 staff members and help 1,500-2,000 people annually.

Our Partners

Collaboration is integral to the success of JAMLAC and the people we serve.

Our Team

Our team of attorneys, paralegals and administrators are committed to bridging the gap between our clients and the justice they seek.

Steve Thompson

Lead Servant & Senior Attorney

sthompson@jamlac.org

Jose Escobar

Associate Director & Family Law Attorney

jescobar@jamlac.org

Sulma Mendoza

Immigration Director

smendoza@jamlac.org

Nikki Koster

Director Of Development

nkoster@jamlac.org

Marlene Bedoya

Communications Manager & Development Officer

mbedoya@jamlac.org

Miriam Miranda

Survivor Advocate

mmiranda@jamlac.org

Elizabeth Davidson

Family Law Attorney & Office Manager

edavidson@jamlac.org

Ruby Crews

Family Law Attorney

rcrews@jamlac.org

Amy Enriquez

Rosanna Mendoza-Rios

Claudia Rueda

Mckenna Newsum Schoenberg

Immigration Attorney

mnewsumschoenberg@jamlac.org

Carmen Stevens

Department of Justice Accredited Representative

cstevens@jamlac.org

Vicky Guerrero

Immigration Paralegal & Workshop Coordinator

vguerrero@jamlac.org

Janette Torreblanca

Carolyn Gravit

Pro Bono Director

cgravit@jamlac.org

Aide Salazar Zetina

Bilingual Navigator

asalazar@jamlac.org

Our Board

Douglas Griess

Board Chair

Partner, Hackstaff & Snow

Michelle Warren

Board Vice Chair

Community Development Advocate/ Activist

Jeff Messer

Board Treasurer

CFO, ToolWatch

Jim Helfrich

Partner, Allen Velltone Wolf Helfrich & Factor, P.C.

Tom Scheffel

Partner, TNS Associates, P.C.

Ayinde Russell

Pastor of Local Outreach, Colorado Community Church

Heidi Messer

Director of Accounting, Denver Metro Chamber of Commerce

Hawk Thomas

Managing Counsel, Reid Law, P.C.

Scott Lumpkin

Principal, Scott R. Lumpkin & Associates LLC – Philanthropic Advisory Services

Vanessa Guzman

Owner, He Reigns Real Estate

Wes Hayes

Contractor, Software Developer

Annual Reports